Megan E. Brown plays Maria

So I’m basically Just a small town girl, livin’ in a lonely world.

I moved to Chicago from Upstate New York about a year ago now and I’m still getting used to living in the city! I graduated from Elmira College in 2005 with a BA Theatre and spent a year on the road touring with the Missoula Children’s Theatre.

 

Considering I’m almost a quarter of a century old I’ve traveled and seen my fair share of things in this world! Since I’ve been in Chicago I’ve appeared in Girl Blue with the n.u.f.a.n ensemble and You Gotta Kick Up You Heels with A Table and Chairs. Most recently I appeared in Profile Theatre’s production of Things We Said Today.

 

I’m rockin’ out the role of Maria in Italian Lights; Not Stars. I definitely feel like I can relate to her because I’m at that age where all of my friends seem to be getting engaged and married, and yet I personally am no where near ready to make that commitment.

 

I feel like I have so many things on my to-do that I want to get done before I settle down. There is so much pressure when you get to a certain age to take that next step with someone, especially if you have been in a serious relationship, but I feel too many people rush into things because they think it’s the thing to do.

 I admire Maria for being honest with herself and with Tommy and for realizing what she wants. I’m no where near Italian – I’m more of a Heinz 57 variety, but I’m having a hell of a time filling the shoes of an Italian in this piece!
 

Published in: on March 6, 2008 at 7:14 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://stagewhisper.wordpress.com/2008/03/06/megan-e-brown-plays-maria/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

